Faculty Office Hours

Nikki Armstrong, Assistant Professor, Math/Math Learning Center
B.S. in Mathematics, 2007, California State University
M.A. in Mathematics, 2009, University of California
M.Ed. in Curriculum and Teaching, 2011, University of Oregon
nikki.armstrong@socc.edu

Amber Ashpole, Assistant Professor, Writing/Humanities
B.A. in Liberal Art, 2005, Oregon State University
M.A. in Humanities/English, 2010 California State University
amber.ashpole@socc.edu

Ronald Bell, Professor, Counselor
B.S. in Theatre Arts, 1978;
M.F.A. in Playwriting, 1980, UCLA
M.C. in Counseling Education, 1989, Arizona State University
rbell@socc.edu
Website

Fred Brick, Professor, History/Political Science
B.A. in History/Education, 1986, College of St. Thomas
M.A. in History/Political Science, 1990, University of Minnesota
fbrick@socc.edu

Daniel Brouse, Professor, Biology
B.S. in Biochemistry/Biophysics, 1995, Oregon State University
Doctor of Chiropractic, 1998, Western State Chiropractic College
dbrouse@socc.edu
Website

Chelsea Clemens, Instructor, Welding
A.A.S. Welding and Fabrication, 2013, Southwestern Oregon Community College
chelsea.clemens@socc.edu

Anthony Collins, Assistant Professor, Transitional Education
B.A. in Linguistics, 1999, Western Washington University
M.Ed in Adult Education, 2000, Western Washington University
acollins@socc.edu

Cheryl Davies, Associate Professor, Psychology
Bachelor of Commerce, 1989, McMaster University
M.S. in Psychology, 2001, Southern Oregon University
cdavies@socc.edu

Jessica Engelke, Assistant Professor, Business
B.S. in Business/Management, 2006, University of Phoenix
M.B.A, 2009, University of Phoenix
jessica.engelke@socc.edu

Robert Fields, Professor, Biology/General Science
B.S. in Biology, 1981;
M.S. in Biology, 1984, University of Illinois
Ph.D. in Zoology, 1991, Washington State University
rfields@socc.edu

Robin Finney, Instructor, Basic Nursing Assistant
A.A.S. Nursing, 2007, Southwestern Oregon Community College
B.S. Nursing, 2012, Linfield
M.S. Nursing, 2014, University of Mary
robin.finney@socc.edu

Darrell Folck, Associate Professor, Baking/Pastry
AOS in Culinary Arts, 1996, California Culinary Academy
darrell.folck@socc.edu

James Fritz, Professor, Art
B.A. in Liberal Arts/Studio, 1983, St. John’s University
M.F.A. in Sculpture/Metal Casting, 1989, Southern Illinois University
jfritz@socc.edu

Nilda Garzelloni-DoVale, Associate Professor, Culinary Arts
B.A. in Hotel Restaurant Management, 1977, Michigan State University
Chef Training Program, 1981, LA Trade Technological College
ndovale@socc.edu

Trevor Hoppe, Associate Professor, Health/PE
B.A. in Physical Education, 1992:
M.A. in Physical Education, 1996, Humboldt State University
thoppe@socc.edu

Sean Hutcherson, Associate Professor, Mathematics
B.S. in Mechanical Engineering, 1989, University of California, Santa Barbara
M.A. in Math and Science Education, 1994, University of California, Berkeley
shutcherson@socc.edu

Bernadette Kapocias, Professor, Speech
B.S. in Communications, 1993, Southern Oregon State College
M.A. in Communications, 1997, Washington State University
bkapocias@socc.edu

Kyriakos Kypriotakis, Assistant Professor, Mathematics 
B.A. in Mathematics, 2000, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
M.A. in Mathematics logic, 2002, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens
Ph.D., 2009, University of California
kkypriotakis@socc.edu

Kelly Leavitt, Assistant Professor, Health/PE
B.S. in Athletic Training, 2004, Salisbury University
M.S. in Kinesiology, 2007, University of Hawaii
kelly.leavitt@socc.edu

Tasha Livingstone, Instructor, Forestry/Natural Resources
B.S. in Forest Management, 2013, Oregon State University
M.S. (Interdisciplinary) in Forestry and Communications, 2015, Oregon State University
tasha.livingstone@socc.edu

Peter Mantey, Instructor, Speech Communication
M.A. in Communication, 1986, Regent University
B.A. in Music Education, 1978, Heidelberg College
peter.mantey@socc.edu

Ronald Metzger, Professor, Earth Science
B.S. in Geology, 1985, St. Lawrence University
M.S. in Geology, 1988;
Ph.D. in Geology, 1991, University of Iowa
rmetzger@socc.edu

Dan Neal, Professor, Health/PE and Track Coach
B.S. in Health/PE, 1974, Southern Oregon State College
M.S. in Sports Coaching, 1994, United States Sports Academy
dneal@socc.edu

Joy Parker, Professor, English
B.A. in English, 1982;
M.A. in Applied Linguistics/TESL, 1986, University of Oregon
jparker@socc.edu

Karen Pederson, Instructor, Medical Assistant
B.S. Nursing/English Literature, 1980, Olivet Nazarene University
karen.pederson@socc.edu

Tony Peters, Instructor, Fire Science
B.A. Management, 2012, American Military University
A.A.S. Instructor of Technology and Military Science, 2011, Community College of the Air Force
A.A.S. Fire Science, 2010, Community College of the Air Force
anthony.peters@socc.edu

Woojay Poynter, Assistant Professor, Baking/Pastry
B.S. in Computer Science, 1996, Michigan Technological University
M.A. in Economics, 2002, Unviersity of Oklahoma
A.O.S. in Culinary Arts & Management, 2005, Metropolitan Community College
B.S. in Culinology, 2009, Southwest Minnesota State University
wpoynter@socc.edu

Tom Roberts, Instructor, Culinary Arts
A.A. in Occupational Studies in Culinary Arts, 1985, Culinary Institute of America
troberts@socc.edu

Maidie Rosengarden, Assistant Professor, Childhood Education/Family Studies
M.Ed. Education/ECE, 2002, Belmont University
Ed.D. Education/Ed. Leadership, 2004, Trevecca Nazarene University
maidie.rosengarden@socc.edu

Melissa Sperry, Instructor, Nursing
A.A. Nursing, 1998, Northwest Community College
B.S. Nursing, 2008, Regents College 
melissa.sperry@socc.edu

Mike Springer, Instructor, Chemistry
B.A. Philosophy/Sociology, 2005, University of Nevada
B.S. Biology, 2008, University of Nevada
B.S. Chemistry, 2009, University of Nevada
Ph.D. Chemistry, 2014, University of Colorado
mike.springer@socc.edu

Linda Stagg-Brown, Instructor, Accounting
B.S. in Business/Psychology, 1999, Eastern Oregon University
M.B.A. in International Business Administration, National University,
lstagg-brown@socc.edu

Bryan Thurman, Instructor, Manufacturing/Welding
A.A.S. in Welding and Fabrication, 2013, Southwestern Oregon Community College
bryan.thurman@socc.edu

Randy Torres, Instructor, Culinary Arts
Vocational, Culinary Arts, 1998, Orange Coast College
A.A. Culinary Art, 2012, Southwestern Oregon Community College
randy.torres@socc.edu

Joseph Tremonti, Associate Professor, Digital Design
B.F.A.  Interdisciplinary Studies, 1999, University of Georgia
M.F.A. Electronic Visualization, 2002, University of Illinois at Chicago
joseph.tremonti@socc.edu

Michael Turner, Professor, Music
B.M. in Music Theory, 1976,
M.M. in Music Theory, 1981, North Texas State University
mturner@socc.edu

Adam Whitlatch, Associate Professor, Health/PE
B.S. in Physical Education, 2000, Ohio University
B.S. in Recreation Studies, 2000, Ohio University
M.S. in Pedagogy/PE, 2001, University of Wisconsin, Lacrosse
awhitlatch@socc.edu

Pam Wick, Instructor, Nursing
A.S.N., 1989, American River College
B.S.N., 1994, Oregon Health Sciences University
Masters of Nursing, 2011, Walden University
pam.wick@socc.edu

Mark Wilson, Professor, English
B.A. in English, 1976, Northwest Nazarene College
M.A. in English, 1978, Washington State University
mwilson@socc.edu

Marta Wozniak, Assistant Professor, Writing
B.A. in English, 2001, Southern Oregon University
M.A. in English, 2001, Nicholas Copernicus University
M.A. in English, 2004, Arizona State University
mwozniak@socc.edu

TOP