Home > Southwestern News > Follow ACF TEAM USA from Oregon Coast Culinary Institute

Follow ACF TEAM USA from Oregon Coast Culinary Institute

Team USA

Want to follow ACF TEAM USA from Oregon Coast Culinary Institute on the road to the International Culinary Olympics in Erfurt, Germany?

Coos Bay, OR. –Southwestern Oregon Community College Media Productions Team intends to provide daily videos of Youth Team USA, as they compete in the International Culinary Olympics in Erfurt, Germany. Youth Team USA, from Southwestern’s own Oregon Coast Culinary Institute, earned the privilege of representing the United States in this competition. The team has 6 members including: Edalyn Garcia (team captain) Maddie Cutts, Reilly Meehan, Alfonzo Mendoza, Krista Nakamura, and Laura Williams. The Coach, Coordinator and Managers include: Randy Torres, Alex Darvishi, Lanni Wui and Steve Jillaba.

The video-streaming is accessible via any computer and will include close up views of the food preparation, stories about the youth team members and the awards ceremony. The daily reports will feature the competition highlights as well as footage of the town of Erfurt. Erfurt is situated along the river Gera, and features an almost perfectly preserved medieval city center, characterized by spires and bridges. The International Culinary Olympics have never been filmed before so SWOCC’s video-streaming is a first for this historic competition that dates back to 1900. The Media Production Team includes Dean Ball and Floyd Chase.

Travel Oregon, the American Culinary Federation, KCBY, Bicoastal Media, The World, and KDOCK will post a link to SWOCC’s daily video journal. To see the action visit the SWOCC home page (www.socc.edu), scroll to the bottom right corner, and click on “LiveStream.” If you sign up for a free account you will be notified when SWOCC productions posts a new video.

The USA has teams in all competitions including the Youth Team, a Regional Team, Military Team and National Team. All the USA teams compete in Hot Food Preparation on October 7th and Cold Food Preparation on October 9th.  The award ceremony is on October 10th. Video-streaming is expected to begin October 5th.

Southwestern’s Foundation is proud to announce the team sponsors including: Bandon Dunes Golf Resort, Bicoastal Media, Confrerie De La Chaine Des Rotisseurs Foundation, Coos Bay-North Bend Visitor and Convention Center, Day Ship Supply, KCBY-TV, The Mill Casino and Resort and Hotel, Caddy McKeown, Oregon Restaurant and Lodging Association, Seafood OREGON, Portland Roasting, Vend West, Caddy McKeown, Phillip Anderson, and Baxter Baird.

The schedule for Youth Team USA:

  • October 1 - Youth Team USA departs for Frankfurt, Germany
  • October 2 - Youth Team USA arrives in Frankfurt, Germany
  • October 3 - German National Holiday!
  • October 4 - Preparation/logistical checks
  • October 5 - Youth Team USA leaves for the Restaurant of Nations
  • October 6 - Coverage of global teams and footage of Erfurt, Germany
  • October 7 - Youth Team USA Hot Food Competition and all USA teams’ competitions
  • October 8 - Coverage of global teams and footage of Erfurt, Germany
  • October 9 - Youth Team USA Cold Food Competition and all USA teams’ competitions  
  • October 10 - Awards ceremony and dinner
  • October 11 - Buses and Youth Team USA departs for Frankfurt Airport

Published Sep 28, 2012 (Updated Oct 11, 2012)

Top of Page