Coos Bay, OR – Southwestern Oregon Community College’s Hall of Fame honors former athletes, teams, coaches, and those that had a large impact on the College and its athletic programs. Two teams and one individual span a wide range of Laker history and make up Southwestern’s Hall of Fame class of 2023.

This year’s inductees are:

  • The First Men’s Golf team (1967-68) including players Bob Seelig, Ron Thompson*, Roger Ketchum, Clint* & Doug Laird*, Al McDougall*, Dave Johnson*, John Duncan*, Bob Abbey*, Chuck Smith*, and Wayne Overstake*, coached by James (Jim) Ferguson;
  • The First Women’s Golf Team (1997-98) including players Margot Patula, Tiea Pruitt, and Raynae Harding;
  • The First Men’s Golf NWAC Champion (2008-09), Andrew Von Lossow, coached by Michael Chupka.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on the Coos Campus (1988 Newmark Ave., Coos Bay) in Prosper Hall on Saturday, June 3, 2023 at 3:00 pm during the Annual Sports Awards. The event is free and open to the public. There will be food available following the ceremony.

The College is seeking help in locating team members, noted with an (*). Anyone having information on the inductees may contact the Hall of Fame Committee at hof@socc.edu or 541-888-7208.



Student Housing

Recreation Center

Curry Campus

Parents & Families


Campus Store


Pathways & Degrees


GED & Pre-College Education

Job & Workforce Training

Maritime Classes

Community Classes

Small Business Dev. Center

CARE Connections


International Students


High School Partnerships

Pay For College

Tuition & Fees

Financial Aid


Campus Safety

Accessible Education Services
TRIO Programs
Career Coach
Skip to content